Electrical & Lights 2011 ES-T SSD Nav problem

Discussion in '3rd Generation (2006-2012)' started by jevs68, Tuesday 8th Jul, 2014.

1. jevs68 New Member Getting Started

James
    2011 ES-T I-DTEC Auto SSD Nav Problem
    Hi All,
    This is my first time posting in a forum so please forgive any errors and apologies if this issue has already been discussed!

I bought the above model from new and, wouldn't you know it, just as the warranty has run out I now have a problem I can't fathom.

If you're familiar with the nav unit on this model then you'll know that you access the CD slot behind the LCD touchscreen by hitting the eject button and the whole fascia slides down and forward.

In the last day or two the unit seems to have developed a mind of it's own and opens at random whilst driving and will not return - no matter how many times you press the button - until it sees fit!

Even when you switch off the ignition it stays stuck. I've tried all sorts but it will only return when it wants, but will then open again when it feels like it, and so on.....

There doesn't seem to be any one thing that triggers it as far as I can ascertain. The touchscreen does not work whilst the unit is open but all the hard buttons around the screen do, except for the one that's supposed to close it, aagh! (This same button does work, however, when the unit is closed and behaving itself).

Any thoughts, ideas, soothing words would be greatly appreciated.

Many thanks.

2. Ichiban Founder Staff Team

England CJ Leeds
  3. jevs68 New Member Getting Started

James
    Hi Ichiban,

Thanks for the reply.

Yep, it's bizarre alright.

Spoke to my Honda dealer today and they said they had seen it happen a couple of times before and that it would cost £330 for the unit to be removed, sent off for inspection/repair and refitted - plus the cost of any components if needed - or, I could just leave it and it might right itself!