Electrical & Lights After market sterio problem

Discussion in '1st Generation (1999-2006)' started by JimmyJames, Saturday 18th Jul, 2015.

1. JimmyJames New Member Getting Started

I've just bought my first Honda, it's a used HR-V and its the smoothest and best runner I've had yet. Think my next car will be a Honda. I've already found some helpful info on this forum and thanks for that.
    However I am having difficulties with installing a new sterio. There was already an after market sterio installed but it was faulty, the unit lights up but because the connecters do the face have been damaged the details on the screen are jumbled. I say this because my new sterio (which halfords tested and showed me working) will not work what so ever. I have swapped the red and yellow wires around as suggested with some cars and have replaced the fuse under the dash board.

I'm really lost and would be greatful if anyone Here could help me out. I'm a musician and I Need music in my car hehe.
  2. SpeedyGee Administrator Staff Team

England Speedy Birmingham
    We need to know how you did the wiring.
  3. Beefy Expert Advisor ★ ★ ★ ★ ★

United Kingdom Stoke
    Just swapping wires without checking them first is a recipe for disaster. Standard ISO is simple in general and with a converter harness which I presume you have? Should just be plug and play.
    Nighthawk likes this.
  4. JimmyJames New Member Getting Started

The ISO harness is already installed and will power the previous but faulty sterio. I thought the same with swapping the red and yellow wires but the person at halfors did it and said it's fine.
    I have tried everything I can think of and with the limited knowledge I have. I Sony have a amp meter to test the voltage but as the old sterio powers on (only for 5 seconds) I'm assuming that it's getting the right power.
  5. JimmyJames New Member Getting Started