General Annual Report

Discussion in '3rd Generation (2006-2012)' started by rikernumber1, Wednesday 24th Jun, 2015.

1. rikernumber1 Club Member ★ ☆ ☆ ☆ ☆

Phillip Whitstable, Kent
    I’ve owned my CR-V for just under a year – I've done 25K in it and it’s had its 2nd service in that time. It has just clocked 89K, and I thought an annual report might be useful for prospective buyers of that model, and for general interest.

My CR-V is a 2008 Petrol EX 2.0 auto; it was bought specifically for business use = mainly motorway cruising; I’m a self-employed project manager based in Kent, currently doing work for a Wolverhampton based company, who in turn have clients all over the UK. We weren’t specifically looking for a CR-V; I was looking for a comfortable second hand vehicle that was big enough for university trips, camping trips etc. as well as significant business mileage - and it was just there on the car lot (reputable used non-franchise dealer a few miles from where I live). I charge business mileage back, so providing I wasn’t out of pocket I wasn’t fussed about maximising fuel economy (i.e. a diesel).

The vehicle had 64K on the clock when I bought it and a full Honda service history.

How much has it cost me to run?
    Fuel cost per mile is currently running at 16p – it’s averaging just under 31 MPG and the majority of mileage is motorway. That MPG is measured using the tank-to-tank fill method – every trip computer on every car I’ve had has been generous on MPG, but the tank-to-tank method doesn’t lie.

Repair/Maintenance costs
    In term of repairs and maintenance, here’s what I’ve spent in the 12 months / 25,000 mile period:
    A/C Service £40.00
    A/C relay £23.57
    Diff Fluid £37.42
    Front Discs and pads £363.75
    N/S mirror indicator LED assembly £55.57
    1st 12K Service £305.94
    Puncture Repair (Kwik-Fit) £26.50
    2 X Goodyear Efficient grip SUV tyres (for front, supply only) £222.30
    Terraclean £132.00