Fuel Efficiency Anyone use non bog standard fuel?

Discussion in '3rd Generation (2006-2012)' started by steve4536, Tuesday 20th May, 2014.

1. steve4536 Senior Member ★ ★ ☆ ☆ ☆

I've just started on my 3rd tank of this Shell V-Power Nitro+ Unleaded - Shell United Kingdom It's about 3p a litre dearer than the bog standard stuff and I have to say I'm impressed. Engine starting has improved (not that it was bad before) but it just feels slicker. Engine noise appears to be that bit quieter and feels a bit quicker on the take up. All a bit subjective I hear you say but the real bonus which I can see, is the increase in MPG; currently achieving around 3 MPG more (average that is). I haven't done the maths yet as to any economic gain but I'll be quite happy to put this motion lotion in the tank for the foreseeable future. :Smile:
  2. Ichiban Founder Staff Team

England CJ Leeds
    Bud I have been using shell premium for 14 years in Accords now and no turning back.. But a worth adversary to Shell VPP is BP Ultimate Unleaded too, both are good.

CR-V owners I am sure will concur with your findings.
  3. John Dickson Expert Advisor ★ ★ ★ ★ ★

I have found exactly the same Steve. When I had petrol Accords I always ran them on optimax, then Vpower, then Vpower Nitro+ in preference to anything else. Nitro + made a noticeable difference in my last Accord 2.0iVTEC CU1. Supermarket fuel is rubbish.

I haven't dared try anything other than normal shell diesel or VPower Nitro+ diesel in my CU3 as I want to protect my DPF as much as I can. I don't' notice the difference between normal Shell Diesel and Nitro+ as much as I did with their petrol. I will not put supermarket diesel in my car as it is rubbish.

There was a thread on this a bit back:

General - Shell V-Power Nitro + • Honda Karma
  4. John Dickson Expert Advisor ★ ★ ★ ★ ★

BP Ultimate and regular fuel also good. In fact if I recall correctly BP is the only fuel now that is 100% petroleum based.