Engine & Gearbox Clutch problem

Discussion in '6th Generation (1997-2002)' started by Rastaj, Tuesday 2nd Jun, 2015.

1. Rastaj Club Member ★ ☆ ☆ ☆ ☆

Ireland Rastaj Templemore
    Well lads im having a bit of problem with my clutch. Recently my accord CG8 developed a proble. With its clutch. When I press the clutch when putting the car into first it sticks to the floor and starts to slip. It will alow me to take off but I have to pull the pedal up with my foot before I can engage any other gear. It only does it in first and reverse and if I don't put it into neutral before stopping I can't get it out of gear again. I have replaced the clutch and slave cylinder and bled the sytem but it is still the same. I have a master cylinder on order but im still in the dark as to what could be causing the problem. I am thinking air maybe getting into the system somewhere but I am unsure as to where and the last place I can think of is the master cyl. Any help greatly appreciated and thanks in advance

2. SpeedyGee Administrator Staff Team

England Speedy Birmingham
    You need to change the CMC and see how it after that. Check your fluid line and connections for cracks etc

exec likes this.
  3. exec Premium Member Club Supporter

United Kingdom London
    Should be back to normal after you change the master cylinder.

4. Harvey Expert Advisor ★ ★ ★ ★ ★

I had the same thing happen to me, I posted a thread called clutch woes.
    My pedal did as you described, went to the floor and stayed there, but before this I had a changing bite point, the more you used it, the lower to the floor the bite point got. Indeed mine was the clutch master cylinder, thankfully its pretty easy to access on a RHD Accord unlike our European and American counterparts. I think to have mine replaced by a garage it was £156. I could have done it myself, but needed the car next day for a first aid course.

Chunkylover53 and exec like this.
  5. Chunkylover53 Expert Advisor ★ ★ ★ ★ ★