General Couple of new owner questions 03 tourer

Discussion in '7th Generation (2003-2008) [Acura TSX]' started by Justin75, Wednesday 10th Feb, 2016.

1. Justin75 New Member Getting Started

United Kingdom justin sydenham
    Hi everyone.
    I've just bid and won a 2003 accord tourer auto with 118k on it.
    I'm collecting it on Saturday and as yet I haven't paid any money.
    I'm 40 and have had around 20 2nd hand cars and have only been burnt a few times.
    I currently have a diesel avensis and a subaru impreza.
    The diesel avensis 2001 is at the end of its life and the accord is taking its place.
    I'm a carpenter and will basically using the car as a daily grind to and from work carrying tools and children at the weekend.
    My questions are what should I look for in the auto honda?
    And also in advance if I do get it,how easy or viable is it too change the headunit to my aftermarket one that I have including subwoofer, amps and component speakers.
    It has the sat nav.
    Not sure if it's the exec model or not.
    It has heated leather seats and sunroof and dual climate.
    My only real concern is the gearbox that has done 118K.
    I've had most makes of car before apart from honda and vw.
    Thanks for any advice in advance.
    Cheers
    Justin

2. SpeedyGee Administrator Staff Team

England Speedy Birmingham
    Hi Justin, welcome to Honda Karma.
    Honda auto gearboxes are pretty darn good, beats having to worry about DMF failures and the associated costs of repair to that

You really want to make sure it has full service history, things I an think of to be on the look out for are :-
    • Noisy timing chain
    • Noise coming from the aux belt area (alternator bearing or needs a shorter aux belt)
    • rust on rear wheel arches
    • Make sure tailgate is working properly
    • noise from drive shafts
    • signs of outside edge tyre wear on rear wheels
    • leaking exhaust manifold
    • EGR issues