Pre-Purchase CR-V auto - bad or good

Discussion in '2nd Generation (2002-2006)' started by Paulcornwall, Sunday 15th Feb, 2015.

1. Paulcornwall Club Member ★ ☆ ☆ ☆ ☆

United Kingdom Paul Penzance
    After the father seen our FR-V he's now sold his pug and looking for a CR-V. I have no experience of this model but there's a nice looking one in ebay but with an AUTO box. Should he stay clear of the auto when teamed with 2l petrol? Is there anything we should watch out for? Your help much appreciated.
  2. DeviateDefiant Co-Founder Staff Team

United Kingdom Leo Northants
    Honda's automatic gearboxes are generally sublime, though I'd imagine a K20/R20 A/T would be pretty slow off the line and feeling a bit underwhelming in general. The CR-V chassis does suit a more torquey low-end from a diesel, though of the course the petrols are king for reliability.
  3. excel monkey Club Member ★ ☆ ☆ ☆ ☆

United Kingdom Epsom
    Auto is slower, but suits the car better. I have a manual, but wish I had gone for an auto, as the gearing is higher so the car cruises at lower rpms on the motorway. The column shift on the auto also means the car has a completely walkthrough cabin.

From browsing used car ads when looking for my 2nd Generation CR-V, most of the better looked after cars seem to be autos. They probably attract an older and more careful owner. [/generalisation]
    colinwade55 and FirstHonda like this.
  4. herbie147 Junior Member ☆ ☆ ☆ ☆ ☆

I bought an auto. First time car with an auto box and I don't regret my choice, I feel quite relaxed driving it, a nice change :Smile:
    FirstHonda and SpeedyGee like this.
  5. roelfarm Club Member ★ ☆ ☆ ☆ ☆

United Kingdom Mike Cheltenham