Pre-Facelift Model CR-V worth it?

Discussion in '3rd Generation (2006-2012)' started by compassuk, Wednesday 15th May, 2013.

1. compassuk New Member Getting Started

Hi guys,

I am new to the world of honda but having just had my Jeep written off I need another car.

I am after a bit of advice.

the vehicle I am looking at is as follows:

2007 new shape 2.2 diesel Ex Manual
    all the ex gadgets, leather sat nav pan roof cameras etc
    in black
    no towbar so hasnt towed anything

1 owner with full Honda main dealer service history

now the scary bit ... 139,000 miles

I can have the car for £7200 after negotiations but I am still scared of that mileage.

I do 8-10k a year and I need it to tow my 1300kg caravan a few times a year

should I run a mile or is it safe?

thanks in advance
  2. RobB Expert Advisor ★ ★ ★ ★ ★

Sounds like too much money to me at that mileage.
  3. SpeedyGee Administrator Staff Team

England Speedy Birmingham
    Agree with Rob, seems overpriced for the mileage.
  4. compassuk New Member Getting Started

yeah thats what i thought.
    think ill give it a miss then
  5. i-DSI Expert Advisor ★ ★ ★ ★ ★

Belgium Aalst
    Just one thought: the price depends not only on the mileage, but also depends on:
    - General condition (wear, damage, interior scratches,...)
    - Technical condition: recent changed parts such as tires, battery, maintenance just done, brakes, etc, etc....
    - Accidents?
    - Full waranty for one year included in the price?
    Think about this:
    - my Accord had 50k miles, driven on 1,5 years and all highway when I bought her. It's worser to buy a 15k mileage car that went up and down every day to travel 3 miles.
    - once I owned a company car that I drove myself from 0 to 150k miles. And at that point (7 years later) you could not see the difference with a new one, inside, outside and technical point of view. I could have driven that car another 150k miles without any major problem.