Introductions Entered the Honda world with an FR-V

Discussion in 'Introduce Yourself' started by Effarevee, Tuesday 3rd Feb, 2015.

1. Effarevee Junior Member ☆ ☆ ☆ ☆ ☆

United Kingdom Ryan wallasey
    Hi all,
    I've recently bought an 05 Honda FR-V sport 2.0 i-VTEC
    This was due to getting a surprise 2 for 1 deal on our 3rd visit to the baby shop.
    I'm an auto electrician in a factory making well known "british" 4x4s
    I was trained from scratch in house so my knowledge is pretty specific to a small collection of cars in
    unused condition.
    I've got some issues with my new motor which i'll try to address elsewhere in the forum.

Cheers, ryan

moob and dbrooks65 like this.
  2. SpeedyGee Administrator Staff Team

England Speedy Birmingham
    Welcome to Honda Karma and congrats on all fronts :Grin:

Pop your car in the Club Garage Ryan, she'll appear on every post you make then, this aids us in helping you.

What sort of problems are you facing ?

I like the username by the way :Grin:

Last edited: Wednesday 4th Feb, 2015
  3. Effarevee Junior Member ☆ ☆ ☆ ☆ ☆

Thanks Speedy,
    My main problem is a rusty oil pan, it's pretty bad there seems to be a patch where oil is seeping through.
    Its definitely beyond repair.
    I'd like to know if anyone knows of a decent source for a replacement, £186 from Honda seems steep but i've yet to find a spurious supplier.
    Secondly is it possible to remove said pan without lifting the engine? To me it seems possible but wouldn't want to get caught out.

PS, i'm new to this whole forum thing, if any of this should be posted elsewhere please advise

4. SpeedyGee Administrator Staff Team

Although it doesn't list it, I think this may fit

I'm not categorically sure if you can drop the sump on the FR-V. For most K series Hondas though, with some lifting of the engine the sump does come out.

5. dbrooks65 Senior Member ★ ★ ☆ ☆ ☆

Scotland Dave glasgow
    Hi Ryan