Body, Paint & Styling faded red paint

Discussion in '7th Generation (2003-2008) [Acura TSX]' started by white.akita, Wednesday 10th Jul, 2013.

1. white.akita Junior Member ☆ ☆ ☆ ☆ ☆

hi, my 2004 tourer has badly faded red paint that in now like pink !
    can these be power polished with g3 cutting compound ?

2. Primarycare Expert Advisor ★ ★ ★ ★ ★

United Kingdom Primary c Northampton
    Hey bud
    To be honest I think it prob depends on how far gone it is. If it were me I would run it in to a reputable body stop and get it looked at. A good buff and polish might be all she needs to bring the paint work back but im no expert. You could do it your self but don't burn the paint work its easy done.

Good luck

3. white.akita Junior Member ☆ ☆ ☆ ☆ ☆

thanks, I will call in a bodyshop tomorrow.

4. Ichiban Founder Staff Team

England CJ Leeds
    All Milano red paint fade it a fact you could buff it up with it will fade in 6 months again. One advice I could give you don't use too aggressive compounds to get the shine up once the lacquer is off the base coat will be exposed and it will fade faster.

It a viscous cycle for all Milano red owners, the only permanent solution is a respray. Its the pink lacquer coat which fades and not the base coat.

5. white.akita Junior Member ☆ ☆ ☆ ☆ ☆

I read in a few places that honda don't use lacquer on milano red, is that not true ?

6. Ichiban Founder Staff Team

England CJ Leeds
    No this is not true R81 Milano red DOES have a clear coat. For that candy look the lacquer is pink in colour and not clear lacquer on solid colour or pearl finishes.

7. wkervick Junior Member ☆ ☆ ☆ ☆ ☆

London
    Hi,
    I've got the same problem with my 05 accord, paint starting to fade a bit. Any idea roughly the kind of prices charged for a complete re-spray on a car this size?
    cheers!

8. Ichiban Founder Staff Team

England CJ Leeds
    In London look for a easy 4500 pounds for a full respray.

9. SpeedyGee Administrator Staff Team