Exhaust System Fitting a centre silencer

Discussion in '6th Generation (1997-2002)' started by Jables667, Friday 29th Jan, 2016.

1. Jables667 Club Member ★ ☆ ☆ ☆ ☆

England Jables Exeter
    Hello all!

Tomorrow I'm gonna be tackling my centre silencer, as the rear pipe of it has rusted so badly that it's detached from the rear silencer completely. I picked up the part yesterday (and had a wonderful time getting it inside the car...)

This is the part I speak of (which Euro Car Parts reserved for me after giving them my reg etc). The car is a 6th Generation Honda Accord 2.0i SE.

topcat_704600382.

This is my first time fitting an exhaust. I figure it should be fairly straightforward, but I'm a bit apprehensive. Is there anything I should be wary of? The part itself has a three-bolt fixing where it attaches to the downpipe (I assume) and a two-bolt fixing at the rear silencer. Is this right? I don't trust ECP as far as I can throw them, if I'm honest. I've attempted to Google myself a tutorial or at least some kind of guide to let me know what to expect, but thus far the search has been fruitless.

Thanks in advance, guys! Any guidance is welcome and appreciated massively.

2. legend-ary Moderator Staff Team

United Kingdom Legend The Big Smoke
    I can't tell you how many bolts it takes but all I can suggest is that new bolts that you require to fit the silencer as the ones on the exhaust will reduce you to tears if you don't have any power tools. I have never seen exhaust bolts come off without the use of a lot of swear words, fire and power tools.

Only way I could manage to take them off was to use a small saw to cut off the bolts and simply use new ones.
    - - - Updated - - -
    this is how mine came off, both snapped .. paid QuickFit £25 to do it for me as exhaust is one job I don't think you can DIY with basic tools as its pretty difficult to work under the car with such limited space.
    2015-10-11 14.22.13.

3. AndyB1976 Valued Contributor ★ ★ ★ ★ ☆