Suspension, Steering and Brakes Front caliper slide pins

Discussion in '7th Generation (2003-2008) [Acura TSX]' started by Old Cruiser, Monday 23rd Feb, 2015.

1. Old Cruiser Senior Member ★ ★ ☆ ☆ ☆

pete slough
    Just looking at the front disc and pad replacement DIY, I noticed the mention of slider pins don't these require some form of grease on them before refitting?
    Cheers Pete

2. Nels Moderator Staff Team

Silicone grease is what I used on mine.

SpeedyGee likes this.
  3. SpeedyGee Administrator Staff Team

England Speedy Birmingham
    Nels likes this.
  4. Old Cruiser Senior Member ★ ★ ☆ ☆ ☆

pete slough
    That one says alternative to copper grease, although I appreciate it won't damage the rubber boots is this stuff not likely to congeal in that it could prevent the silding action prematurely?
    Cheers Pete

5. SpeedyGee Administrator Staff Team

England Speedy Birmingham
    No it's what I've been using for several years and not had any issues with the slider pins at all.

6. Nels Moderator Staff Team

Superfit is worth getting. I will be buying it next, when I've used what I've got.

7. Old Cruiser Senior Member ★ ★ ☆ ☆ ☆

pete slough
    Right that's me sold on that , be good on my motorcycle too , cheers guys
    Cheers Pete

8. Nighthawk Guest

United Kingdom Richard Milton Keynes
    Yeah, always use silicone grease on slider pins, copper grease wears away and clogs up causing the pins to stick inside the calipers over time. Copper grease also damages the rubber boots of the slider pins. Another +1 here for silicone grease

9. Old Cruiser Senior Member ★ ★ ☆ ☆ ☆

pete slough
    Just bought the bosch stuff above so hopefully that will do the job, cheers for your input guys.
    Cheers Pete

Nighthawk likes this.
  10. exec Premium Member Club Supporter

United Kingdom London