Off-Topic Heads up for online sellers re scams

Discussion in 'Off-Topic Chat' started by Chunkylover53, Thursday 12th Dec, 2013.

1. Chunkylover53 Expert Advisor ★ ★ ★ ★ ★

So the festive period is upon us once again, chances are quite a few people here are going to be selling their unwanted possessions to make some extra cash on the side to fund this period.

I've been trading since 14 yrs old and in my 5 years I have seen every trick in the scammers book from shipping to nigeria to credit card chargebacks.

Just today I sold a games console worth £150 via courier MyHermes. I started using them due to Royal Mail's ridiculous prices. The buyer received the item today minus the actual console. As a result I figured either the buyer or courier nicked the item. Now, this certain buyer was threatening to come to my home to get his money back etc. Fortunately ebay didn't disclose my address but they did disclose my number. He called me and used every expletive in the dictionary within a minute or so after which I hung up. All this was to make me issue a refund before even contacting the courier firm.

Now I have contacted myHermes (never using them again, 500+ items sent with them, first that has been stolen). They obviously deny the claim but I have gone through anyway. I'm certain ebay are going to force me to issue a full refund, as a result I am going to be £150 out of pocket even though it is not my fault. Also for the record I photographed the serial number.

I'm still incensed at this and honestly this is more of a cautionery tale to those who sell infrequently on ebay/amazon/playtrade etc to be careful, at this time of year scammers will feed off you if you let your guard slip.

If anybody here is not sure whether they are getting scammed etc then feel free to ask me, I can accept that I have been scammed, at least if I stop one other person from falling into the same trap then we can eradicate this sort of issue.