Body, Paint & Styling Help Please on Spray Painting Tailgate Trim

Discussion in '7th Generation (2001-2005)' started by RogerH69, Monday 23rd Mar, 2015.

1. RogerH69 Premium Member Club Supporter

South Africa Roger Oxford, UK
    I'm wanting to spray the chrome trim on my tailgate to match the colour of my car (colour code is apparently NH-674M - though I will confirm this). As I've never sprayed anything before, I was wondering -
    1. How would I need to prepare the trim piece ?
    2. Would I need primer before the paint ? If so, would it be any particular primer, or would basic Halfords grey primer be Ok ?
    3. Where is the best place to get the correct colour paint in an aerosol can ?
    4. Once it's sprayed, and dried, do I need to treat it with anything else ?
    As I said, I've never done this before, hence what may seem like noob questions, but I'd like to give it a go myself, and I think it's something I could do on my own.

2. Nels Moderator Staff Team

There are some clips on you tube. These were the first two I found.

As for paint suppliers, try searching for 'car paint suppliers in xxxxx'. Look for the places that supply the trade. They can make you a can of your colour. You just need to quote the paint code. (I paid about £10ish for a can)
    They should also be able to supply you with primer, lacquer, wet and dry and anything else you need. Just remember that it's all about preparation. If you've not used rattle cans before, get a cheap one and practice on something else first. It takes a little practice if you want to avoid orange peel or runs.

I have found my independent has far better quality paints than anything Halfords or similar sell. Hope that helps.

RogerH69 likes this.
  3. Ichiban Founder Staff Team

England CJ Leeds
    Our Rich is a expert on paint @Nighthawk sort out Rog fella when you have a mo.

RogerH69 likes this.
  4. Nighthawk Guest

United Kingdom Richard Milton Keynes