Engine & Gearbox Help - Starting problems..

Discussion in '6th Generation (1997-2002)' started by skywalker, Thursday 6th Dec, 2012.

1. skywalker Junior Member ☆ ☆ ☆ ☆ ☆

As a total newbie to this club, I really need some help please...

Bought a 2000, 1.8 SE last weekend and runs very smoothly with just 99K on the clock. But, on Monday morning it failed to start..!! The engine was turning over but would not fire into life. Called out Green Flag, and we eventually got it going by constantly turning over the engine and banging on the fuel tank (GF suspected a fuel pump problem). Once started there were no issues with restarting until Wednesday morning when it did it again. Called out GF and they got it going by turning over the engine constantly for about 2-3 minutes. All spark plugs are working.

Took the car to my Indy garage and they ran a diagnostic check and found no recorded faults or error codes.

Any ideas as to what could be the problem?? If you need more info please ask.

2. Brian100 Club Member ★ ☆ ☆ ☆ ☆

Intermittant faults are almost impossible to diagnose, it could be fuel pump, it could be distributor, it could be lack of power to your fuel injectors, so instead of getting Green Flag to get you going it best to get them to take it to the garage you use, yes I know you need it to get to work, we have all at some time had the same problem, I know I have and I know it is not easy, you have to re-think the day, that is the only way I can out of it unless you go through it yourself, let us know how you get on.

3. Ichiban Founder Staff Team

England CJ Leeds
    Hi Skywalker and welcome to AOC when was the last time the car was serviced and the battery checked over.?

4. Beefy Expert Advisor ★ ★ ★ ★ ★

United Kingdom Stoke
    if you have spark and the engine is turning over you are lacking fuel. have you checked the main pgmfi relay?..........can you hear the fuel pump in the tank prime when the ignition is swithed on?