Engine & Gearbox honda ep2 valve lash

Discussion in '7th Generation (2001-2005)' started by sam-ep2-04, Thursday 24th Sep, 2015.

1. sam-ep2-04 New Member Getting Started

United Kingdom sam bangor
    hi so im new to the form and looking for abit if help with my ep2, i bought it about 6 months ago now and since I've bought it I've thought the valve gap was out because the engine seemed very tappy so i had a friend who works at mazda adjust the valve gap down to spec for me as i dident have the tools at the time he told me a few of the gaps were too tight and a few were lose so he put them all to spec now the car sounds the same if not abit worse its sounds fine when cold but when it warms up it sounds like a sewing machine, so im just wondering is anyone on here has some advice about what i can do to try get it sorted any help would me much appreciated. thanks sam

2. SpeedyGee Administrator Staff Team

England Speedy Birmingham
    If it sounds worse after doing valve clearances then most likely that either the clearances were done incorrectly or the wrong specs were used.

Was the engine stone cold when clearances were done ?

3. 2.4 8thGen Valued Contributor ★ ★ ★ ☆ ☆

United Kingdom Brett Bristol
    As Speedy said was the check done on a cold engine.
    Honda recommend it is checked under 38C
    Petrol engines has got a slight tappy noise though but is normally the injectors around the intake manifold

4. sam-ep2-04 New Member Getting Started