Accord Honda Sun Strip Decal

Discussion in 'General Discussion' started by John Dickson, Tuesday 24th Jun, 2014.

1. John Dickson Expert Advisor ★ ★ ★ ★ ★

Been messing around on EBay (I know I shouldn't :lol: I'm new to EBay for this very reason) and found one of these which I like the look of although unfortunately they've not got a picture of it on a car yet.

My only concern is that from memory (which could well be incorrect) the wiper sweep on the 8th Generation is quite high up the windscreen so would be constantly crossing the vinyl strip whenever the wipers are on.

Has anyone fitted a similar strip and if so do they last ok or do the look raggy quickly because of the wipers going over them?

Cheers :Thumbup:

2. John Dickson Expert Advisor ★ ★ ★ ★ ★

3. Duc de Pommfrit Moderator Staff Team

United Kingdom Chester Northumberland
    Do you not want one with "John" & "Wife" maybe in green with white writing

John Dickson likes this.
  4. Ichiban Founder Staff Team

England CJ Leeds
    It would have been better in white personally , but are these illegal in the UK? @PeteMM

5. John Dickson Expert Advisor ★ ★ ★ ★ ★

I think you can order one in white. It's someone in South Shields who makes them but that doesn't guarantee if it's legal though.

6. MickyB Expert Advisor ★ ★ ★ ★ ★

I thought sun strips had been made illegal

7. PeteMM Premium Member Club Supporter

Northern Ireland Pete Belfast, UK
    If the wiper sweep touches them, they are illegal.

You are allowed an element of tint as a sun shade but it must not obstruct your view. It is also rare to find a modern car that doesn't have some form of faded strip across the top of the screen from the factory, but that is about the darkest you are allowed to put anything on the windscreen.