Service & Maintenance Honda Warranty for Cars Over 8 Years Old

Discussion in '7th Generation (2003-2008) [Acura TSX]' started by sc489, Tuesday 11th Aug, 2015.

1. sc489 Club Member ★ ☆ ☆ ☆ ☆

I've been buying a Honda Extended Warranty for my 2006 Accord for the past few years.

My car is 9 years old in September and I've just renewed the warranty for another year since I've decided to keep the car a bit longer.

I noticed the warranty document now records the cover as "Maintenance & Care" rather than "Extended Warranty" which I've had to date. The dealer tells me the policy name is changed for cars over 8 years old. The dealer assures me there is little practical difference between the cover offered. Do others agree and have you had any problems claiming on the "Maintenance & Care" warranty?

I also did not receive any paperwork confirming I have AA Breakdown cover. The dealer told me this is issued separately and has promised to expedite sending me the paperwork. Can someone confirm that you do get full AA Breakdown & Recovery cover with the "Maintenance & Care" policy?

2. Nels Moderator Staff Team

Anyone able to help with this query please?

3. sc489 Club Member ★ ☆ ☆ ☆ ☆

I've now received the breakdown / recovery document. There is no mention of Honda Homecare Assistance, European Assistance and no hire car contribution. This appears to be a very inferior policy for cars over 8 years old. I've raised the issue with my Honda dealer to investigate and get a refund since the change in policy conditions was not explained.

4. bijomaru Premium Member Club Supporter

United Kingdom Rob Swindon
    I doubt they would issue an Extended Warranty for a 8 year old car. It's pretty much a matter of time before elements will start to need more attention, purely because of their age. did you notice any price difference between the Extended Warranty and the Maintenance and Care policies?

5. sc489 Club Member ★ ☆ ☆ ☆ ☆