Off-Topic How do you view the Honda accord, and its typical driver.

Discussion in 'Off-Topic Chat' started by philoldsmobile, Sunday 21st Apr, 2013.

1. philoldsmobile Club Member ★ ☆ ☆ ☆ ☆

I've always viewed them as quite a classy car, more a rival to Saab or Volvo than a ford / Vauxhall alternative. I picture them as a car driven by dentists and architects (I'm an account manager by profession, and an engineer by qualification) and just love my Accords build quality, comfort and quietness. My first memory of a honda accord was as a small boy - a family friend had a 3rd Generation accord, and I always remember it being so smooth and comfortable, my dad would always comment on what a nice car it was, and I do remember even my mum - not a petrol head in the slightest, saying how nice the accord was.

When I was shopping for an automatic in december I looked at various cars - the BMW 3 series (E46) was a strong contender in 320 or 323 form but a bit of research revealed there are a lot of issues with the auto box. The Mercedes C180 or C220 made a decent case for themselves, but the 1st Generation cars are looking old now, and the 2nd Generation fell into the 98 - 2002 dodgy area where mercedes scaled back the build quality. I also looked into a CLK, but rust is a big problem with them. Audi are w**kers cars, the Passat has a dodgy auto box, and Volvos were also looking dated.