Electrical & Lights I'm no expert, but here's what I think.

Discussion in '7th Generation (2003-2008) [Acura TSX]' started by smiler, Wednesday 22nd Jan, 2014.

1. smiler Junior Member ☆ ☆ ☆ ☆ ☆

Hey people, :Wave:

I only joined up this week and while trying not to seem arrogant or big-headed, I'd like to ask for advice already.

There are many questions I'd like to ask, but I would like to start with something that involves messing about with electrical and ignition systems.

I recently purchased a voltmeter and necessary bits for mounting and installation. Now I admit that I'm no expert (although I'd like to be), but I personally don't see a problem with wiring the positive wire from the voltmeter, straight to the battery via a suitable switch. There are probably plenty of reasons why it shouldn't be done that way, so if anyone can offer any then I'd be very grateful for the assistance.

:Wink:

Last edited: Wednesday 22nd Jan, 2014
  2. RobB Expert Advisor ★ ★ ★ ★ ★

Nothing wrong with your approach mate.

3. smiler Junior Member ☆ ☆ ☆ ☆ ☆

Thanks RobB. So assuming it's completely safe to go ahead with that, what's the easiest or safest way to feed a wire through the bulkhead? It's probably going to be a pain-in-the-ass job that requires removal of the dashboard, right? Also, would anyone know if there's a suitable mounting point for the ground/negative wire, maybe under the dash or somewhere similarly accessible?

4. Doc Expert Advisor ★ ★ ★ ★ ★

Matt Peterborough
    Follow one of the wiring harnesses from the engine bay into the cabin. You may have to remove some dash board trim to find the wiring but you won't have to remove much. The ground/ negative can be attached to anywhere on the dashboard mounting frame.

5. candobill Valued Contributor ★ ★ ★ ☆ ☆

I can see what you are about but one thing I would do is make sure that you have an in line fuse for the voltmeter in case of any problems the fuse could save a lot of damage :Thumbup: