Introductions john from longfield

Discussion in 'Introduce Yourself' started by jonhall, Saturday 10th Mar, 2012.

1. jonhall New Member Getting Started

Hi everyone i'm new to the AOC and I have a brake problem with my 05 tourer 2.0ltr petrol.Over the last week or so my rear brake hubs have been getting very hot where the fronts stay cool.I'm guessing there is a brake bias/apportioning valve fitted to the hydraulic system.has anyone come across this problem and could they tell me whre the unit is fitted.
  2. SayamaAccord Top Contributor ★ ★ ★ ★ ☆

Hi John and welcome to AOC.

I'm just wondering if this might be the VSA / Vehicle Stability Assist unit on your car. It is a known fault on the diesel. It is located in the engine bay and has several brake lines leading into it.
  3. Ichiban Founder Staff Team

England CJ Leeds
    Hi John,

Welcome to AOC for starters I won't even worry about the brake proportionate valve or any other core components of the VSA modulator is equipped on your car. There is no need to go into the braking system so deep it’s a Honda there is no mickey mouse engineering on this car.

My experience on accord is the rear calipers do need a strip and clean EVERY year, the winters take a toll on them. If this is not done yearly they then begin to chew stuff. I have two tourer both MOT'd recently and got Holdcroft Honda to strip the rears and lubricate the sliders. Both cars had the first symptoms of catching whilst the sliders were perfect, and again both showed the symptoms on the near side rear disc. I could have done it myself but I am lazy when it comes to my cars.

It’s the rust and grime build up between the pads and the backing plate which makes the pads bind.

Secondly if an inexperienced DIYer or careless technician were to stretch or inflicts damage to the rear brake hoses it make matters worse. This normally happens when the caliper is off for a brake pad change or left dangling stretching the pipe.