Engine & Gearbox lost all drive help!!!!!!

Discussion in '1st Generation (2004-2011)' started by Falcoron, Thursday 30th Jun, 2016.

1. Falcoron Junior Member ☆ ☆ ☆ ☆ ☆

Northern Ireland Ron Belfast
    2004 2.2 diesel. has just lost all drive, car starts and runs perfect good clutch pedal, driving off at juntion this morning, loud bang under car and no drive gears!goes in and out of all gears smooth smoothly, on tick over there is a faint muffled bump bump bump noise, only heard inside car can't hear that outside. select gear and let out clutch and the bump, bump gets faster. out of gear in idol it returns to slower bump bump noise.
    . Clutch was starting to slip slightly for past month or so, have a brand new clutch bought ( gen honda) no rattles or snatchy clutch what so ever only a very slight slip now and again. Any ideas? im thinking the clutch has stripped the teeth and not engaging but im no mechanic. Wifes car and now really stuck. If its the clutch is there a DMF in this model and does it give bother? if there is would it be prudent to buy one for the kit i have now?
    Had a mondeo and you know when that clutch is on it's way out rattleing and dust in starter etc. nothing like that here though. still feels smooth and quite?
    All suggestion appreciated please.

2. Zebster Expert Advisor ★ ★ ★ ★ ★

United Kingdom .
    Snapped driveshaft?

3. RobsyUK Valued Contributor ★ ★ ★ ☆ ☆

United Kingdom Rob Milton Keynes
    Was the release bearing replaced when they did the clutch?

4. SpeedyGee Administrator Staff Team

England Speedy Birmingham
    Did the garage that did the job have the right tools (there's a special tensioning tool required for pre-tensioning the clutch when installing) to do the job ?

If they didn't then it will need all come off to be done properly again !

5. Zebster Expert Advisor ★ ★ ★ ★ ★

United Kingdom .
    Has the new clutch actually been fitted?

6. SpeedyGee Administrator Staff Team

England Speedy Birmingham