General low oil for the first time?

Discussion in 'General Discussion' started by Racy Jace, Tuesday 4th Aug, 2015.

1. Racy Jace Expert Advisor ★ ★ ★ ★ ★

Just tried to get to work when the low oil light came on. Luckily I hadn't got to the motorway so went home and swapped cars for the reliable nissan. Lol.

Since owning the car it hasn't used oil so I'm suprised that it's now using it. Am I missing something? Is this normal? Or what could be causing it?

Cheers

2. Nighthawk Guest

United Kingdom Richard Milton Keynes
    I am no oil expert, but a couple of things spring to mind. Have you recently had her serviced and they used the wrong viscosity oil - diesels are really fussy over their oil. My Accord burnt Mobil oil like it was on fire, but doesnt burn Castrol at all. Or, on the complete opposite scale, when was the last time the oil was changed, oil breaks down over time and is naturally burnt away. Happens in diesels more quickly than in petrols. How often do you check your oil level?

Racy Jace likes this.
  3. Zebster Expert Advisor ★ ★ ★ ★ ★

United Kingdom .
    How low was the oil level? How many miles has it done since it was last 'full'?

Racy Jace likes this.
  4. Bones126 Top Contributor ★ ★ ★ ★ ☆

England Dave Birmingham
    Are there any visible signs of a leek? and was it a sudden drop in oil level?

5. Zebster Expert Advisor ★ ★ ★ ★ ★

United Kingdom .
    I'm still not sure that the oil level has been checked and confirmed to be low. Some Honda models needed a software mod to prevent false low oil level warnings.

Nighthawk likes this.
  6. Nighthawk Guest

I drove a car the other day that turned itself off flashing low oil (car is less than a year old). Car had been sitting at an angle so when I turned it over, it panicked as the oil had slopped away from the sensor and the ECU shut the car off. However, this was not a Japanese car in any way and was instead one of the most loved marques on the forum (note the sarcasm)