Lower control arms

Discussion in '2nd Generation (2001-2008)' started by kes, Friday 19th Jun, 2015.

1. kes Club Member ★ ☆ ☆ ☆ ☆

Hi there,

My aunties Honda Jazz 2003 1.4 is needing new front lower control arms. The horizontal bushes have deterioted. I know you can press in new bushes but garage says better to get arm as cost of labour would be about the same. Unfortunately Im too busy to do it for her.
    My question is genuine ones see to be £250+ each so that's too expensive for her. Does anyone know what company make the arms OE? online there seems to be aftermarket parts from FEBI, Ocap, FAI, Q-drive, blueprint, QH. Any ideas if any are good? I'm new to Japanese cars, had german before.

2. Davej5 Club Member ★ ☆ ☆ ☆ ☆

Dave Cornwall
    I have no direct experience but Blueprint are supposed to be close to OE.

kes likes this.
  3. Ichiban Founder Staff Team

England CJ Leeds
    In Asia you can get lower compliance bushing as there Honda has give single bushes as a service part like the Accords. For some bizarre reason Honda does not offer it here.

kes likes this.
  4. kes Club Member ★ ☆ ☆ ☆ ☆

I see you can buy the bush from aftermarket suppliers. I have replaced them myself on other cars and own a press, takes a bit getting used to but so much cheaper. Most cars that I have worked on you don't even have the option and have to buy the full arm.

5. John Hamer Club Member ★ ☆ ☆ ☆ ☆

United Kingdom John Waltham Abbey
    Was this an MOT failure? the reason I ask is that for the last 5 years ours has had "bushes show signs of deterioration but no excessive movement" on the MOT cert,

6. kes Club Member ★ ☆ ☆ ☆ ☆

No it was an advisory but he said it would fail this year. I will probably replace the whole arm as don't have the time to do the job myself anymore.

7. John Hamer Club Member ★ ☆ ☆ ☆ ☆

United Kingdom John Waltham Abbey