Electrical & Lights Main beam useless.....why??

Discussion in '7th Generation (2003-2008) [Acura TSX]' started by Bigngroovy, Sunday 14th Apr, 2013.

1. Bigngroovy Junior Member ☆ ☆ ☆ ☆ ☆

Hi,

I'm new to Honda, and now have a 2006 Accord tourer Ctdi, which is just perfect for my newly growing family.

Upon using the main beams, it would appear that they're not set to project at a high enough angle, meaning that they just make the beam pattern of the dipped beam appear brighter.

This is really unnerving when driving unlit national speed limit roads at night, as the lights just don't pick out much aside from the road 20-30 metres in front of the car.
    I have come from a 2000 BMW 530D M-sport, and the main beams on that would shine ahead for miles attracting low flying aircraft to land in front of me.

Is there anything that can be done to improve the spread/angle of the main beams on the Accord? I have tried setting the in cabin headlight adjuster to its highest setting, but no joy.

It's almost like the main beam bulbs are somehow upside down, (which i don't think is possible?), and shine down at the road surface in front of the car, rather than angled up to see further into the distance.

I'd appreciate if someone could shed some light, (b-dum-Tsss):Tongue:, on my problem.

Many thanks all.

2. Ichiban Founder Staff Team

England CJ Leeds
    Hi and welcome AOC if your car is due a MOT soon ask the operator to see the headlights are aligned correctly. If not due an MOT then you will ask them to check it.

Set the internal headlight lamps adjuster at zero. Halogen are not the best lighting in the world it what you have to live with.

3. Bigngroovy Junior Member ☆ ☆ ☆ ☆ ☆

Thanks, i MOT'd the car the day i had it, (last week), and everything was fine with adjustments. Are there any possible upgrades, or adjustments that i can make, as i fail to see how any driver would be happy with this set-up, it just seems totally inadequate to me.