Guides MT handbrake adjust

Discussion in '1st Generation (2004-2011)' started by evaldas325, Monday 25th Nov, 2013.

  1. evaldas325 Junior Member ☆ ☆ ☆ ☆ ☆

    eu
    5
    1
    Handbrake should give 5 to 7 clicks to come on fully. I can count 7-11 clicks before it is fully engaged. I know there should be a screw nut to tighten a cable somewhere under the front seat. Which front seat - drivers or passengers? Is it under the carpet, how easy to access it? Any comments appreciated.
     
  2. SpeedyGee Administrator Staff Team

    England Speedy Birmingham
    14,999
    5,593
    4
    Can you follow the cable from under the dash, see where it leads to. Your looking for where it connects to the two cables coming from the back.

    B__2601.
     
    Loading...
    colinbos likes this.
  3. evaldas325 Junior Member ☆ ☆ ☆ ☆ ☆

    eu
    5
    1
    Thanks! I was staring at this diagram earlier but just suddenly realised when I saw your post that this cover plate (with 3-11-15-17 parts) is present in the following photo:

    headunit0790.

    So it seems that adjust nut is under the drivers seat, you need to move the seat back as far as possible and it should be somewhere under the carpet. I saw carpet openings around this area. Few kama sutra positions and nut will be adjusted.

    SJD5E00D00060800000MCRD03.
     
    colinbos likes this.
  4. SpeedyGee Administrator Staff Team

    England Speedy Birmingham
    14,999
    5,593
    4
    Lol ... cool.

    Do let us know how you get on and err which karma sutra positions are required for the job
     
    Loading...
    DeviateDefiant likes this.
  5. garf8v Club Member ★ ☆ ☆ ☆ ☆

    If it isn't too much trouble, can you let us know what size nut it is?
    I replaced the shoes recently, but still have to do the cable....seems a bit daunting!
    GOOD LUCK
     
    Loading...
  6. bigjoe Junior Member ☆ ☆ ☆ ☆ ☆

    Did anyone ever try this, I am still unsure what side its on and if the seat goes back far enough to get to the inspection hole.

    I take it that on a UK car this is under the passenger front seat and not drivers side as stated?

    Does the seat need to all the way back (to the rear) or forward?

    Does the seat need to be removed to gain access?

    I recently fitted new rear pads to the car hoping this would solve my problem but unfortunately not. My handbrake comes all the way to the stop, and barely holds the car when facing upward on a hill. The car seams to hold when facing downhill however?
     
  7. bigjoe Junior Member ☆ ☆ ☆ ☆ ☆

    To answer some of my own questions and some of yours too.....here it goes!
    In the UK it is under the passenger seat, there is a flap in the floor however the nut you will need to tighten is to the left of this flap.
    The nut is a 10mm, a long socket and a a long extension are really useful as access is quite limited, oh and a good torch helps!

    Now on to sort out why my aircon doesnt work....
     
  8. Beefy Expert Advisor ★ ★ ★ ★ ★

    United Kingdom Stoke
    1,115
    685
    1
    It's not too difficult to adjust once you know where to adjust it. By the way with your A/C it's most likely to be the contender where it connects to the low pressure pipe bottom right corner as you look at it from the front. They corrode quite badly there and leak.

    - - - Updated - - -

    Edit : condenser not contender. Oops
     
    Loading...
    bigjoe and Ichiban like this.
  9. Ichiban Founder Staff Team

    England CJ Leeds
    30,129
    6,381
    516
    loving the dynamat sound proofing, I bet the car is quite insulated on gravel and rough terrain.
     
    Loading...
  10. bigjoe Junior Member ☆ ☆ ☆ ☆ ☆

    Not sure where my reply went but hey ho....

    Can you buy the pipe to sort out the aircon issue or will i have to replace the condenser itself?
    Do you or Ichiban have a diagram of what I should be looking for (even part numbers too)

    Thanks guys!
     
  11. Ichiban Founder Staff Team

    England CJ Leeds
    30,129
    6,381
    516
    Loading...
  12. Beefy Expert Advisor ★ ★ ★ ★ ★

    United Kingdom Stoke
    1,115
    685
    1
    it tends to be the condensor itself where pipe no 6 attaches that corrodes. I've seen it on quite a number of FR-V's
     
    Loading...
  13. Merk1981 Club Member ★ ☆ ☆ ☆ ☆

    Has anyone had the aircon issue fixed under warranty?
     
  14. candobill Valued Contributor ★ ★ ★ ☆ ☆

    I wouldn't think so unless its extended warranty it is not that common a fault till late on :Search:
     
    Loading...
  15. Merk1981 Club Member ★ ☆ ☆ ☆ ☆

    I'm still within my 12 month approved used warranty period. I've recently noticed an odd noise from the engine bay that disappears when I switch the air con off. No cold air through the blowers even when on "low" and condensation on windscreen are other recent issues.
     
  16. Merk1981 Club Member ★ ☆ ☆ ☆ ☆

    Well I'm booked in at the local dealers for Monday to find out if there is a warranty issue on the air conditioning.
     
  17. Merk1981 Club Member ★ ☆ ☆ ☆ ☆

    Well 3 parts replaced and still no joy so it looks like I'm due a new compressor and condensor!
     
  18. Merk1981 Club Member ★ ☆ ☆ ☆ ☆

    Swarf has contaminated the system to such an extent that a specialist is being called in. Has anyone experienced such catastrophic air con failure before?
     
  19. Merk1981 Club Member ★ ☆ ☆ ☆ ☆

    I have a 2 week wait for a part so Honda have kindly paid Enterprise to give me a Ford C Max. I have to say, it's great to drive.
     
  20. Ichiban Founder Staff Team

    England CJ Leeds
    30,129
    6,381
    516
    Well done Honda looking after your customers, you will be told to get on your bike if you had a gerzman curd.
     
    Loading...