Daily Driver My ride

1st Generation (2004-2011) vehicle added by Mo hussain, Friday 23rd Sep, 2016

1. Mo hussain Club Member ★ ☆ ☆ ☆ ☆

England Mo Oldham
  2. SpeedyGee Administrator Staff Team

England Speedy Birmingham
    @Mo hussain, I'm a veteran LPG installer. Looking at your LPG installation I have some major concerns.

Aside from being a messy installation (which in itself isn't a problem), from what I can see in the pictures the reducer is installed very high up, some parts of the reducer look like they will be sat higher than the highest level of the water system. What this means is that air will be trapped in the the parts that are higher than the water level. With the engine running, this air will get pushed around the engine and could potentially cause pockets of heat to build up.

I'm sorry to have to tell you that this is not a well engineered installation, there's a high risk of getting head gasket failure at some point in the future.

3. Mo hussain Club Member ★ ☆ ☆ ☆ ☆

England Mo Oldham
    @SpeedyGee, the installation of lpg was done by Leeds lpg. The company is uk lpg registered, I don't know much about lpg. The engineer at the company has 20 years experience ( that's what he said anyway). The company has given lifetime warranty. What do you suggest I do???.

4. SpeedyGee Administrator Staff Team

This is exactly what I expected you to say. I expected you to say that they are a large company that do a lot of LPG conversions and are UK registered. I could also have guessed that they gave you lifetime guarantee.

I can tell you that they did the install in one day and used the cheapest of components.

None of the above actually mean much, think of it as if they were builders. A builder may have been doing building work for 20 years but still does not mean that they have done good quality jobs for 20 years. If they were doing cowboy jobs 20 years ago, then they could still be doing cowboy jobs now, right ?