Off-Topic Need recommendations for a good camera

Discussion in 'Off-Topic Chat' started by Abbey, Tuesday 17th Jul, 2012.

1. Abbey Senior Member ★ ★ ☆ ☆ ☆

USA
    I love Cannon camera and would like to get something like a Rebel. But I'm not a camera expert. My last camera broke during vacation and needs to be replaced. Many happy occasions flying by, with no camera and now only a sweet memory. Mostly i need a good point and shoot camera with superb photo quality. Please recommend a good camera for family events/holidays, etc. Something with higher megapixel resolution, easy to use and a reasonable price. Or, just talk about your camera and share photos if you'd like.

2. davemazo Senior Member ★ ★ ☆ ☆ ☆

I too am looking for a camera to replace all of my Canon 40D gear. I`ve decided I`m not a proper photographer, more of a point and shooter so all of the lenses, camera and other paraphernalia I`ve accumulated over the years is going.

Whilst not recommendations I`ve short listed a few that I`ll be looking at. Firstly keeping with the Canon theme is the Canon SX40 HS with its excellent 35X zoom. Also I can use my 580EX II flash with it.

Second is the Sony HX-200V, again, long zoom and some good feedback on Amazon

I`ve also been looking at offerings from Fuji. My photographer nephew uses a Fuji Finepix X100 and swears by it. He sometimes takes this out when he can`t be bothered lugging around his Canon 5D and lenses. While I won`t be going for that (a bit out of my price range at about £650 on Amazon) some of Fujis other offerings look more user friendly.

Some of Panasonics cameras look good. I currently have a Panasonic TZ5 compact which takes great pictures but I`m looking for something with more features so I`ll pass it on to one of the kids when I decide on what I`m going for.

Like I said not recommendations just a few of the cameras I`m looking at.

Ichiban likes this.
  3. Ichiban Founder Staff Team

England CJ Leeds