General New Member looking at 2012 Honda i Vtec Accord 2.0i

Discussion in '8th Generation (2008-2015) [Acura TSX]' started by st4, Sunday 8th Mar, 2015.

1. st4 New Member Getting Started

United Kingdom Steve Glasgow
    I am interested in the above model and possibly the 2.4i. I do NOT want a diesel car, I do not do the millage to justify one and prefer a quieter engine at idle. I drive in town, live in town and will use the car about once a week to go out to the countryside as I am a landscape photographer in my spare time.

I'm based in Glasgow/West and have a budget for this car of no more than £12k. For that I really want a sub 35k miles car that is under 4yo.

I found this.

http://www.autotrader.co.uk/classif...e/up_to_30000_miles/postcode/g848da?logcode=p

Ok its Arnold Clark and not a main Honda dealer, but I don't mind that. Are main dealer cars really worth seeking out?

Can someone given me an idea of any reliability pitfalls. I know of the gearbox bearing issues in older Honda Models, does this affect this era of Accord? I gather the i-VTEC petrol engines are completely bomb proof and bar a freak of nature incident I would have no issues there.

I've owned Mercedes cars in the past and found them wonderful to drive, but shockingly expensive to buy, run and maintain and one in particularly spent as much time off the road causing me financial pain than it did one it. Its not an experience I wish to repeat.

In terms of refinement, which is a huge deal for me, I assume the car is quiet and refined and doesn't kick up road noise. If its comparible in this regard to a Merc C or E class great.

2. Nighthawk Guest

United Kingdom Richard Milton Keynes