FR-V/1st Gen New owner - FR-V problems

Discussion in '1st Generation (2004-2011)' started by Andraz3d, Monday 15th Apr, 2013.

1. Andraz3d Junior Member ☆ ☆ ☆ ☆ ☆

Hi everyone

I am a complete rookie on this forum, and the same goes to Honda ownership. Used to own fords, mazdas, VAG stuff, Fiat... Lately Fiat croma. In general I find myself quite passionate car owner.

anyhow, I bought a used FR-V (1.8 manual, 2008, 130k km, just converted to LPG prins - problems described are with LPG off AND on, 0-30 oil, filters, plugs, transmission oil just changed) 6 months ago and I believe I have a few problems that require your assistance:

1. When breaking, clutch and brakes pressed, I often somehow force the engine to go below 1000 RPM, to around 500. This is accompanied with pretty annoying shake. Diagnostic computer has not shown anything so far... Any ideas what might be wrong?

2. clutch is, in general, quite hard and heavy, very inaccurate (while transmission is freakin awesomely accurate) and squeaks a bit. I believe it is coming to the end of its life cycle, but I am wondering if the new one will be just as heavy and inaccurate? I have to tell that I am not finding any problems in high gears and clutch grip (not sure if this is the right english word) that usually indicates clutch wear.

3. Average consumption on gasoline is around 9 litres, city driving. I find it quite high and blame it to the lack of torque in low rpms. I drive skoda superb 1.8 TSI quite often (manual) and it consumes around 1 liter less... Highway driving (130kmh) gets me around 7.5 litres. Do you find these numbers normal or should I be re-checking some lambdas or something like this? LPG consumption is 1-2 liters higher, as expected.