Engine & Gearbox Non working turbo

Discussion in '7th Generation (2003-2008) [Acura TSX]' started by Nav, Wednesday 31st Oct, 2012.

  1. Nav Senior Member ★ ★ ☆ ☆ ☆

    guys i have more problem...

    I think my turbo has packed up... but no smoke coming out the rear.. :Smile: which i think is a good sign..??
    but its making a high pitch squealing noise at above 1200rpm... and the turbo not kicking in while driving...

    Anyone had the same problem.. or knows wat it is..

    I was a at a traffic light stopped, started to move, first gear no issue.. second gear started off nicely and then suddenly i had a wheel spin and looking at my rear view mirror i saw a cloud of black smoke.. don't know were it came from, exhaust or under the car..? and then it started squealing.. and now no more turbo.. :Frown:

    Find out had no engine oil... so went and bought some 0w 30 castrol, thought that might help, as the turbo is lubed by the engine oil.. is it water cooled or oil cooled..??

    Help..please help... :Frown:
     
  2. Ichiban Founder Staff Team

    England CJ Leeds
    30,133
    6,388
    516
    Nav oh Nav oh Nav,

    Mate where do I start ..you need to get the car checked out if you haven't partially seized the engine by the symptoms you are describing and no engine oil .. you need to get it checked out sharpish.

    check the oil level when cold before setting off and top it up to the top mark.
     
    Loading...
  3. Nav Senior Member ★ ★ ☆ ☆ ☆

    I don't think it is the engine, as it is running fine, idles fine, no funny noises.. when i increase the RPM at about 1000+RPM it makes this high pitch squealing noise.. and i think it is coming from the turbo..
     
  4. Ichiban Founder Staff Team

    England CJ Leeds
    30,133
    6,388
    516
    ok bud get it checked out ASAP but driving it gently if you have to.
     
    Loading...
  5. Nav Senior Member ★ ★ ☆ ☆ ☆

    does anyone knows a diesel specialist in wolves.. i don't think i can drive all the way to stoke to HH... :Frown:
     
    Last edited: Thursday 1st Nov, 2012
  6. Nav Senior Member ★ ★ ☆ ☆ ☆

    New or recon

    Found out the bearing is gone...well the squealing changed into a grinding noise and the guy at the garage said its the Bering and a straight swap of the turbo will do the trick...
    Now question is do I go for a reconditioned one or a new one...the new costs 1600+ vat and a recon costs 400 ....it does have 24000miles warranty or 1 year...
    Opinion guys...
     
  7. Dave Expert Advisor ★ ★ ★ ★ ★

    Recon is what I used on my old cav turbo, its usually all new internals but just uses old casing etc it should have new bearings, shaft, blades etc.
     
    Loading...
  8. Nav Senior Member ★ ★ ☆ ☆ ☆

    Reading a lot of forums n turbo fault finders, all.say turbo fails coz something else fails.. in the case of shot bearings is that still linked into somthing else...or do they just fail after a certain miles or years...
     
  9. dc2blair Junior Member ☆ ☆ ☆ ☆ ☆

    Easy choice for me dude, buy the recon with 24K, you could afford to put a few of them on for the price of a new one ! at 24k that turbo is more or less new, considering a well maintained turbo can last upto 200k !
     
  10. SayamaAccord Top Contributor ★ ★ ★ ★ ☆

    Recon mate, and start checking the oil, sounds like the old one could have gone because of the low oil level starving the bearing of lube
     
    Primarycare likes this.
  11. Doc Expert Advisor ★ ★ ★ ★ ★

    Matt Peterborough
    1,157
    202
    1
    The 'something else' in this case is the oil, or lack of it! The turbo bearing failure was caused by lack of oil and melted your bearings. All turbo's will fail eventually due to normal wear and tear. But the failure can be brought on prematurely by poor maintenance.
     
    Loading...
    Primarycare likes this.
  12. The Bear Junior Member ☆ ☆ ☆ ☆ ☆

    When turbo bearing seals go then u end up burning your engine oil pretty quickly. Give Turbo Technics a ring (best in the country) they will recon your turbo as new. :Grin:
     
  13. Primarycare Expert Advisor ★ ★ ★ ★ ★

    United Kingdom Primary c Northampton
    1,096
    231
    The Bear is right, used Turbo Technics sev times myself (Audi VW diesels espcialy 130 BHP very common fault) I have not tried their recon turbos always gone new and fitted with new oil feed pipe. They have a good reputation in my neck of the woods.

    I have been around their site in Npton and it is a good hi tec setup clean as you like and the guys know their stuff (once you get past the sale peeps) you can buy cheaper but not so sure you would be buying quality..

    Good luck bud hope this gets sorted for you..
     
    Loading...
  14. Nav Senior Member ★ ★ ☆ ☆ ☆

    New turbos cost just too much..and is just not justifiable on an old car. Hence I tot of recon. Yep called turbo techincs they will be sorting it out and by next weekend it shud be fitted in... Three weeks without a car.... That sucks....
    Does anyone have a installation guide for turbo...I read there is a lot if things to check before I pit the new one in...

    Update...

    its not turbo techins guys.. it is MidlandTurbo in Nottingham..
     
    Last edited: Friday 16th Nov, 2012
  15. Ichiban Founder Staff Team

    England CJ Leeds
    30,133
    6,388
    516
    Nav will you be fitting it or someone else?
     
    Loading...
  16. Nav Senior Member ★ ★ ☆ ☆ ☆

    ok people, another question.. read a lot regarding this turbo and found out that the oil feed pipe needs to be changed as it can get blocked and some other reasons... is it safe to pressure wash the pipes to unblock and clean rather than buying a new one..
    another question... does anyone has a guide to install a turbo.. heard there is a sequence.. and have to check a lot of stuff before putting them back on..

    Also found oil residue in the intake pipes and the intercooler pipes.. do i need to clean all of this before installing the turbo... clean i meant high pressure wash..??

    thanks for your help in advance guys...

    - - - Updated - - -

    myself my frnd, and a mechanic who is a frnd.. :Smile:
     
    Last edited: Friday 16th Nov, 2012
  17. Doc Expert Advisor ★ ★ ★ ★ ★

    Matt Peterborough
    1,157
    202
    1
    There should be no reason why you can't clean the pipe instead of replacing it assuming the pipe hasn't perished in any way. You could use water but I'd make sure it was properly dry before refitting to make sure no water mixes with the oil. Or you could try soaking it in degreaser to loosen it up first.

    If you have a significant amount of oil in the intake pipes and intercooler, ie puddles and it pours out, then it is advisable to clean this out before starting the engine. If the oil gets pushed into the engine when it restarts it will combust, this can cause the engine to rev uncontrollably and destroy itself.
     
    Loading...
  18. Nav Senior Member ★ ★ ☆ ☆ ☆

    Anyone... Any guide... How to and what to check when installing a turbo...