Engine & Gearbox Occasional squawking noise from clutch

Discussion in '7th Generation (2003-2008) [Acura TSX]' started by Dcode, Sunday 7th Dec, 2014.

1. Dcode Junior Member ☆ ☆ ☆ ☆ ☆

Hi fellas,

My 2006 Type-S 2.0 petrol makes the odd squawking noise when applying power on the biting point of the clutch. It's worse if there is load on the engine. Usually when pulling away on hills with the steering wheel turned. It's been doing it for the past 20.000 miles but it drives all right. Clutch does not slip etc.

It's not really a major problem now but when the clutch finally goes I want the replacement to fix this noise as well but I read somewhere it's down to one of the clutch cylinders but I can't remember where I got this info. I don't know much about these things and I am not a mechanic so taking the car apart is not something I can be arsed with. I'd rather pay someone else to carry out the labour. Anyway is anyone familiar with this characteristic?

Appreciate your help.

2. ArcticFire-Account Closed Banned Getting Started

Scotland Graham Scotland
    It wouldn't be the release by any chance? Mine made more of a squealing noise though. Seems to have stopped now though as far as I know, perhaps my dad is a little more gentle.

Bloody Android auto correct.

Last edited: Sunday 7th Dec, 2014
  3. Nighthawk Guest

United Kingdom Richard Milton Keynes
    Where the clutch fork meets with the slave cylinder rod - that can squeak at times, need to put some copper grease on the ball joint on the rod where it contacts with the clutch fork, see if that helps at all.

4. Dcode Junior Member ☆ ☆ ☆ ☆ ☆

Cheers lads. Its not the actual pedal (though that does click when pressed), the sound is coming from the engine side. If its the release barring can these be lubricated easily?

5. ArcticFire-Account Closed Banned Getting Started

Scotland Graham Scotland
    I think it's quite involved, pretty much a clutch job. It may be worth posting a video up of the noise first?