Detailing Poor exterior on 6th Generation Accord - how to fix on the cheap?

Discussion in 'Detailing & Cleaning' started by Chunkylover53, Friday 21st Jun, 2013.

1. Chunkylover53 Expert Advisor ★ ★ ★ ★ ★

Hi all

As you guys may or may not know I recently acquired a 99' Honda Accord as my first car from my dad. It had a few issues but all have been rectified for the most part and now all that is left is the exterior condition. I should probably state that I am a student and the cars aesthetics don't concern me too much and I am very money constrained when it comes to cleaning up the exterior. I am not shy of hard work in the slightest though if I am capable of doing it which should help though. Below I have attached four photos with the issues that concern me.

BACK DRIVER - PHOTO 1: Scratches to plastic bumper - how would I go about painting over it and what named product/s would I need?
    2013-06-21 20.20.35.

PHOTO 2 - PASSENGER SIDE BETWEEN DOORS - MOST CONCERNING - It was scratched around 3 years ago and never attended to - there is some visible rust, how can I slow down the process and how can I go about repainting/priming it?
    2013-06-21 20.20.43.

PHOTO 3 - Bonnet of car - Light swirl scratches from badly removed bird poop and use of mechanical car washes etc - is there any way to remove or make it less visible (rubbing compound?) ?
    2013-06-21 20.20.53.

PHOTO 4 - Wheel - Pretty sure it isn't an alloy, just plastic, how would I go about repainting it and what named products and tools would be required?
    2013-06-21 20.21.09.

Sorry for the long post and the constant barrage of questions. I genuinely want to restore the car to the best of my ability within £100 (my mums Civic has a few of these issues too so I can split the cost).

All input is very much appreciated.
    Last edited: Friday 21st Jun, 2013
  2. Ichiban Founder Staff Team

England CJ Leeds
    For Bumper.