General Poor towing performance

Discussion in '3rd Generation (2006-2012)' started by Trend07, Monday 25th Aug, 2014.

1. Trend07 Junior Member ☆ ☆ ☆ ☆ ☆

Trev
    Just returned from my first outing with the van on the back. weight of van approx 1400kg and a 240 mile round trip.
    Really had to work through the gears to maintain any sort of speed and found the CR-V gutless on any steep hill.
    Also found the engine to be "pinking" if diesels do this? .just wondering if anyone else as towed with a CR-V and what sort of performance they got.
    I am wondering if super market fuel is not helping and wound the engine pinking cause a lack of power?
    Previously towed with a 140 bhs Mondeo which was no trouble at all and seemed to have plenty in reserve.
    CR-V IS 2.2 150 BHP with 36k on the clock.
    Any advice greatly appreciated.

Regards Trend07

2. Racy Jace Expert Advisor ★ ★ ★ ★ ★

I'm no expert on this but it could be that the car may have reduced power due to the EGR being sooted up. Maybe give the car a good blast to blow any soot out?

3. DeviateDefiant Co-Founder Staff Team

United Kingdom Leo Northants
    In my experience all cars perform a bit worse on supermarket fuel compared to Shell/BP counterparts, that said I've very little experience with diesel. As Jason says, give her a good long blast down the motorway to clear out any carbon in the system for sure. Worth checking your air filter to make sure it isn't clogged and starving the engine.

As for the towing performance itself, I can't speak to it but other members on here have been towing caravans and the like with good feedback.

4. Trend07 Junior Member ☆ ☆ ☆ ☆ ☆

Trev
    Thanks for the replys.

5. mfdaustrey New Member Getting Started

Just returned from my second trip out towing with my CR-V. First was disappointing. Even more so after filling up and traveling solo. Only did about 32 MPG on Texaco fuel. This time it did 30mpg towing. Fuel make certainly seems to make a difference.