Engine & Gearbox poorly 2.4 accord

Discussion in '7th Generation (2003-2008) [Acura TSX]' started by waggy02, Thursday 14th Feb, 2013.

1. waggy02 Club Member ★ ☆ ☆ ☆ ☆

h,i newbie here
    i have an opition to buy a 53 plate 2.4 accord...cheap
    the catch is the tensioner on the timing chain siezed and it slipped a tooth, it then has been stood a year
    the engine seems to have no internal damage, he said when it reved over 2000 RPM it ran fine, only rough idle
    i need to buy a timing chain kit but they only seem to be avaliable at the dealers, is there anywhere else (e.g vauxhall have auto vaux for cheap genuin parts)
    i have all the information i need to attempt the timing chain (i am a mechainc by trade) but are there any tips or more info that anyone can spare?
    i havent bought it yet and still uming and aring
    its had a need clutch kit and if i get it running be a top car
    thanks

2. jaywood Club Member ★ ☆ ☆ ☆ ☆

Brands
    If you use Holcroft Honda (they have an area on the forum) you will get a discount on OE parts.
    Best of luck fella.

3. SayamaAccord Top Contributor ★ ★ ★ ★ ☆

Sounds worth going for, these are great cars - will you be having a peep under the valve cover first though?

I think the crank pulley bolt might need a special tool.

4. waggy02 Club Member ★ ☆ ☆ ☆ ☆

Yeah the valve cover is off, there is surface rust on the cams, but thats all it is,
    crank pully? now he was having trouble with that, being too tight, don't know about special tool, tell me more :Smile:

5. SayamaAccord Top Contributor ★ ★ ★ ★ ☆

6. SpeedyGee Administrator Staff Team

England Speedy Birmingham
    Yep you need one of them and very very long extension. I undid of these bolts last week.