ICE & HFT Removing the Navi unit

Discussion in '7th Generation (2003-2008) [Acura TSX]' started by cwall22, Tuesday 3rd Nov, 2015.

1. cwall22 Club Member ★ ☆ ☆ ☆ ☆

England Chris telford
    Hi guys,

I have just bought a UK Accord 2.2 ICTDI 04 plate and it has all the kit including the navi unit, but it didn't come with the dvd for the maps.
    i have tried putting in a film dvd and seeing if that played which it didn't so i'm wondering if it can actually play DVD films or not, or is the DVD rom drove broken.
    Another option would be to replace the whole stereo, but i'm wondering how i can control the heater/A/C?
    Standard sat nav units tend to be a bit rubbish from experience so i'm not too bothered about getting it working, so i wouldn't mind buying a standard stereo and getting an aftermarket headunit where the DVD rom is.

Basically i'm very new to this car so any help would be greatly appreciated smile.

2. Alexknight91 Club Member ★ ☆ ☆ ☆ ☆

United Kingdom Alex Norwich
    The navi DVD won't play normal DVD's. Will only read the sat nav disc as far as I know. (Mine certainly didn't anyway)

If you want to change to a double din unit you will need to purchase a connects2/metra fascia adapter these are fairly expensive around the £180 mark partly due to the fact that they integrate the air con/heater controls into them

3. cwall22 Club Member ★ ☆ ☆ ☆ ☆

England Chris telford
    ahh ok, well i have removed the io play 2 out of my Astra H, so i will prob put that in, just wondering if there is anything i can do to the screen to make it display anything other than the message saying i have no map disc in?
    What would happen if i unplugged the dvd rom would i just continue to get the error message ?

4. Alexknight91 Club Member ★ ☆ ☆ ☆ ☆

Not really i don't think, obv the double din you fit will go in place of where your current screen is.