General Sound from rear disc

Discussion in 'General Discussion' started by hsyasin, Friday 21st Jun, 2013.

1. hsyasin Valued Contributor ★ ★ ★ ☆ ☆

United Kingdom Hammad Bury St. Edmunds
    Hey all,
    I've just started to hear slight noise from my passenger side rear wheel, like the brake is touching the disc constantly,
    its like on and off, sometime u hear it and sometimes u don't, and yesterday when i came to work, i touched the rim and it was warmer than the rest.
    Plz help me out, as to how and what should i do??

2. Rhys Valued Contributor ★ ★ ★ ☆ ☆

Im no expert but I'd say if you have the tools and are able to do it then get the the wheel off and have a good look could be something as simple as a stone stuck in between the disc and the pad. Is it I grinding noise and does it get worse when the brakes are applied ?

3. Ichiban Founder Staff Team

England CJ Leeds
    When was the last time the rear brakes were stripped and cleaned ? That should tell you what its doing.

4. bijomaru Premium Member Club Supporter

United Kingdom Rob Swindon
    Had that recently, turned out the person that did my brakes previously did not grease the caliper slide pins, and the bottom ones on both rear sides have seized. This time I did it myself ... only way to be sure the job is done properly I guess. But you might just have work out pads or as above, stone got stuck between the disc and pad?

5. hsyasin Valued Contributor ★ ★ ★ ☆ ☆

nope, its like when u drive car with handbrake still applied.
    and by applying foot brake sometimes it stops, and the sound isnt that bad

- - - Updated - - -

and i don't really know when were they last cleaned, as i only bought it a month ago.
    is there a detalied guide on how to do that?
    and is it easy enough, without needing too many tools?

6. bijomaru Premium Member Club Supporter

United Kingdom Rob Swindon