ICE & HFT Speaker Upgrade Kit

Discussion in '7th Generation (2001-2005)' started by RogerH69, Saturday 6th Jun, 2015.

1. RogerH69 Premium Member Club Supporter

South Africa Roger Oxford, UK
  2. RogerH69 Premium Member Club Supporter

Two questions I would have (I am a novice after all :Smile: ) -
    1. Whether upgrading the speakers would put any more draw on the head unit or not (I think it's ok, as the head unit lists it's power output as MOSFET 50W x 4)
    2. Would the OEM speaker wiring cope with the uprated speakers ?

3. Nighthawk Guest

United Kingdom Richard Milton Keynes
    Yes and yes mate. Its a very minor upgrade, the only cables which need upgrading when you start adding subs etc is the power cable mainly. The stock speaker wires should be just fine for what you are wanting to do. Might be worth checking however with @DJ Wozza for absolute clarity seeing he is very good with audio.

Im going to sort the missus EP2 out with a new set of speaker and a headunit at some point. The stock headunit is pretty appalling.

DJ Wozza and RogerH69 like this.
  4. DJ Wozza Club Member ★ ☆ ☆ ☆ ☆

United Kingdom Wozza Bromley
    Hi, I can only speak in general terms of your question as I don't know anything about Civics & what head unit you are running & the OE speaker sizes & positions.

As for the head unit output supply, it might be 50 watts output, but that is never in a million years 50 watts R.M.S, that will be peak per channel so actually more like 15wrms.

The stock Honda speaker wiring (in the Accord) is actually pretty capable & I would suggest it is more than adequate for your upgrade plan.

image.