Service & Maintenance SRS error code 23

Discussion in '1st Generation (2004-2011)' started by Aldozer, Tuesday 24th Feb, 2015.

1. Aldozer New Member Getting Started

Hi Folks,

Newbie here so if I'm doing it wrong I'm sorry :Wink:

I have a 2006 2.2 diesel FR-V. The airbag light comes on intermittently. But unluckily it stayed on for the MOT, and failed. I tried reseting the code but it just keep coming back on.
    Its a code 23, Has anybody come across this before and if so, did you fix it or is it a dealer job.

Many Thanks,
    Al

2. Ichiban Founder Staff Team

England CJ Leeds
    Hi there how did you read this and try to delete this code by ?

Last edited: Tuesday 24th Feb, 2015
    Aldozer likes this.
  3. SpeedyGee Administrator Staff Team

England Speedy Birmingham
    From what I can find out about that code it translates to :-

23 Short To Another Wire In The Passenger's Airbag Inflator Or Decreased Resistance

So checked the wiring to the passenger airbag.

I've had that issue on the Civic EP3 before. I disconnected the battery and re-seated the connector on the passenger airbag. Never saw the light again.

Aldozer likes this.
  4. Ichiban Founder Staff Team

England CJ Leeds
    And if there is actual resistance in the SRS wiring loom well you will spend a fortune in tracing ghost all your life with parts and cost. SRS airbags work on resistance and the minute the sense it it will light up like a Christmas tree for life.

Aldozer likes this.
  5. Aldozer New Member Getting Started

Hi Ichiban

Thanks for replying.

I shorted pins 4 and 9 on my OBD connector in the footwell and counted the airbag light flashes on the dash. As per this video:

Then I reset the error with the MES connetor as per this video:

It worked, but the error came back, so I reckoned there was something a bit more serious wrong.