Engine & Gearbox Start up revs? 2009 CR-V ES Auto (petrol)

Discussion in '3rd Generation (2006-2012)' started by steve4536, Monday 6th May, 2013.

1. steve4536 Senior Member ★ ★ ☆ ☆ ☆

I've been driving a French diesel for the last 9 years and it has started up winter and summer on the button and at the same constant RPM.
    My recently aquired 2009 CR-V petrol Auto starts up and the revs go to about 1500 +/- a bit. I'm reluctant to engage drive until the revs have died down to near close to normal 750 +/- a bit;Which takes a minute or so.
    Is this normal for petrol engine starting on the CR-V?

2. AccordCU2 Expert Advisor ★ ★ ★ ★ ★

I would say It's normal.
    My petrol Accord does the same.

Ichiban likes this.
  3. i-DSI Expert Advisor ★ ★ ★ ★ ★

Belgium Aalst
    Agree with Zoran. This is normal. Nothing to be afraid off and driving off immediately with a low to moderate speed is the best you can do to bring the engine up to normal operating temp as quick as possible.
    Take into account an auto will go even a bit higher into revs once you shift to 'D'. But also this is normal:Smile:.

Ichiban likes this.
  4. steve4536 Senior Member ★ ★ ☆ ☆ ☆

Thanks for replies. Your comment on temperature brings me to another point. I discovered yesterday and confirmed today, that it seems my engine gets up to temperature within 0.2 miles!! This is obviously wrong. The digi gauge gets up to 2 notches below normal and stays there. I have contacted my dealer to have this checked out. Not a good start with my new Honda! :Angry:

Last edited: Tuesday 7th May, 2013
  5. Ichiban Founder Staff Team

England CJ Leeds
    Hi there could you please get some pictures to show what's going on. One rule of thumb if is not affecting the cars working and performance then things like this have simple reasoning behind it. Don't worry about it as it will just mess with your head its a new car use it for sometime to gathers its behavioural patterns to make a judgement on it.