Accord/8th Gen The New Kid On The Block

Discussion in '8th Generation (2008-2015) [Acura TSX]' started by Grahame_E, Tuesday 4th Sep, 2012.

1. Grahame_E Club Member ★ ☆ ☆ ☆ ☆

Hi Everyone,

Newbie here! My name is Grahame and I've just registered on the site. I don't yet have an Accord but hope to have one in the next 2-3 weeks.

I decided to offload my Ford S-Max TDCi this year after it has cost me over £1.3k in repairs after giving reasonably good service, I've now lost all faith and want rid, it's only just over 5 years old with only 35k on the clock but this year it's shown it's true colours with a failed alarm system, battery and most seriously the steering rack which on it's own cost £1k to repair.

I decided on an Accord based mainly at first on my dad's experience of owning one. He has a 92 J plate accord which has the rear wheel steering! it's coming up to the 200k mark and aside from routine servicing and wear and tear items it's never once let him down.

Another thing that justifies my decision to get one is that fact that looking on this forum there are hardly any owners on here asking for help with issues, there are one or two threads about issues but having read them they are hardly reason to be put off having an Accord.

But if anyone can advise me on what I should be looking for based on their own experiences I'd appreciate it.

So that's why I'm here.

I've had a test drive of a 59 plate 2.2cdti and was very impressed by the drive, comfort, solid build quality and I have to say I think it looks stunning far more imposing than the 7th Generation model which is still a nice looking car.