General Track Days

Discussion in 'General Discussion' started by RogerH69, Monday 1st Jun, 2015.

1. RogerH69 Premium Member Club Supporter

South Africa Roger Oxford, UK
    I'm thinking of booking myself on a 'Novice only track day' at Brands Hatch on 6 July.

Anyone here attend track days regularly / semi regularly ? How's the Brands Hatch course for an absolute beginner ? Anyone been on the Novice Track day organized by MSVT at any of the UK tracks ?

2. MickyB Expert Advisor ★ ★ ★ ★ ★

Roger I haven't actually drove on a track day but at most of the UK Time Attack rounds there are public track times,which are normally a few feeler laps following the course car,then once he is happy that there are no problems then he pulls off and let's the cars go.
    You can drive as fast or as slow as you want.
    Here's an example at Cadwell Park last year there were various sports,saloons etc and guess what took the crowds attention???
    A Nissan Cube driven by an older gentleman,he was last in the queue and by the time he reached the end of the pit straight he was passed by the lead cars. But he didn't care he just pottered round at his own pace until his time ran out.
    So it's not about driving fast but just enjoying the experience of taking your pride and joy around a track.
    Oh by the way there was one very lucky VW Golf R32 driver those that know Cadwell this guy was travelling at speed down through the Gooseneck toward Mansfielfd, ahead of him at Mansfield was a Focus diesel(typical rep car) the guy was entering too fast and lost it, he went sideways straight on up the banking then got it back only to come back towards the track and went backwards across the track in front of the R32 I would put money on that the R32 driver had a strange item in his underpants when he got into the pits it was very very close. So just watch out for others making mistakes.