Engine & Gearbox Tube and syringe to remove overfilled engine oil

Discussion in '7th Generation (2003-2008) [Acura TSX]' started by hondream, Friday 27th Feb, 2015.

1. hondream Senior Member ★ ★ ☆ ☆ ☆

Simon Walsall
    Hello
    Petrol engine 2.4, 2007, Accord

Has anyone used a clear plastic tube and syringe to remove engine oil from an engine that has been overfilled?

What size should the tube be (inside and outside diameters) that you would push down the place where the dipstick is?
    Any tips/tricks to avoid getting oil all over the place.

Anything to watch out for.

I've never done this sort of thing before.
    Always wary about shoving things into places where they are normally not meant to be.

Thanks

2. Nighthawk Guest

United Kingdom Richard Milton Keynes
    Personally, I would loosen the sump plug and let it just dribble out until the excess is gone. I wouldn't go shoving anything down into the engine from above. The sump plug is the safe way and you can control the flow as long as you don't remove the plug. It will be messy, but at least you arent risking any kind of damage by shoving foreign objects into an engine.

Just my thoughts.

steve4536 likes this.
  3. Zebster Expert Advisor ★ ★ ★ ★ ★

United Kingdom .
    How over-filled is it?

4. SpeedyGee Administrator Staff Team

England Speedy Birmingham
    hondream likes this.
  5. hondream Senior Member ★ ★ ☆ ☆ ☆

Simon Walsall
    Thanks for the replies. It seems to be way above the maximum hole on the dipstick.

Speedy - just saw your old photo with the extraction tube going into the dispstick tube.
    Tools - Sealey TP6903 Oil Extractor (compressed air operated)

I assume you didn't have any issues putting the extraction tube into the dipstick tube, and then removing the extraction tube from the dipstick tube?

So an extraction tube with a outside diameter of 6mm should fit easily into the dipstick tube?
    Thanks