Tyres & Wheels Upsizing alloy wheels

Discussion in '1st Generation (2004-2011)' started by Perosteck, Wednesday 15th Jul, 2015.

1. Perosteck Club Member ★ ☆ ☆ ☆ ☆

England Jared Gainsborough
    Good evening

Sorry but I am very new to adding anything to a car, when i was younger I had a few nice little pocket rockets but never needed to change anything, sorry babbling.......

Now I am in a midlife crisis I wanted to know if there is anything special i need to do if i want to upsize my alloys, i can stick with the 16's I have but a refurb seems to cost as much as getting a new set so have found some 17's and 18's that look decent.

Lastly, slightly differing question - black or silver alloys? - my FR-V being black

2. chris2982 Premium Member Club Supporter

United Kingdom Chris Rowlands Gill
    other than making sure you get the tyre size right there's nothing I can think of that you need to look out for.

Perosteck likes this.
  3. Bones126 Top Contributor ★ ★ ★ ★ ☆

England Dave Birmingham
    If buying second hand I would first check that the bolt pattern is the same as the FR-V, so that they fit (sorry if teaching to suck eggs), make sure you have the right wheel nuts for the wheels as there are flat and beveled dependent on type of wheel.
    I think you are safe up to 20" with no issues with the wheel rubbing etc, but with that you would need to check that the wheel offset is right for you car too.
    If you are buying new, none of the above should matted as the supplier should cover all these issues for you and supply the wheels fit for you car.

As for colour, totally your choice mate. Although I am swaying to the graphite grey look now :Niceone:

Perosteck likes this.
  4. garf8v Club Member ★ ☆ ☆ ☆ ☆