General VED > Insurance

Discussion in 'General Discussion' started by AndyB1976, Tuesday 2nd Jul, 2013.

1. AndyB1976 Valued Contributor ★ ★ ★ ★ ☆

United Kingdom Andy Aberfoyle
    Well this is my first year of motoring that my annual road tax (£260) is greater than my annual insurance (£256) :lol:

Anyone else? :Wave:

2. Ichiban Founder Staff Team

England CJ Leeds
    really first year for you Andy, by the DIY you churn out you would appear to be a veteran! if it any consultation my road tax on my 7th Generation Tourer is £465 a year my comprehensive insurance is £402 pounds!!

So you are better off bud.:Wink:

3. AndyB1976 Valued Contributor ★ ★ ★ ★ ☆

I mean first year as in first year tax is less than insurance rather than first year literally lol...

I think my first road tax was about £140 back when there was only one band and insurance was £900+ for my Nova say about 1997/98.

I've only been DIY'ing for 3 year so I take that as a compliment unless you think I am typing it up in my smoking jacket and Sunday paper supplement shoes haha....

4. hedleyf Senior Member ★ ★ ☆ ☆ ☆

Road tax? What's that? Oh yeh now I remember ,we pay it on the price of the fuel as it seemed a fair way to calculate it, the more you use the more you pay, not sure what it works out at but currently paying 116 pence a litre of petrol. Insurance for me Civic 1 .5 lsi about 180 per year full comp.

5. AndyB1976 Valued Contributor ★ ★ ★ ★ ☆

I agree it should be on the litre price, usually bigger engines more polluting mile for mile seems a fair deal.

I hardly drive any miles at the moment say about 4k pa, yet the Corsa at the end of the street is probably doing 20k for a fraction of the VED cost.

Would make keeping a CR-V and S2000 for the weekends a more realistic prospect if VED was on fuel only :lol:

6. ArcticFire-Account Closed Banned Getting Started

Scotland Graham Scotland
    Why is your road tax so high compared to mine? (also 2.4)

7. intruder Top Contributor ★ ★ ★ ★ ☆