Off-Topic What are your other interests?

Discussion in 'Off-Topic Chat' started by Jables667, Sunday 28th Feb, 2016.

1. Jables667 Club Member ★ ☆ ☆ ☆ ☆

England Jables Exeter
    Outside of your pride and joy, how do you like to spend your time? Have you any hobbies or interests? What do you like to do in your downtime? Car related replies are still welcome!

I'm a musician, for the most part. I'm sure my avatar may have given that away. I believe that's me on stage at Brixham, but that whole period is a blur of gigs, rehearsals, parties and hospital visits (the stress of it all caused a plethora of health issues like renal failure, heart complaints and serious back problems).

No longer in a band because of those health concerns and because it was no longer financially viable. Gigs were paying barely enough to cover my fuel expenses and at around the same time, I was needed to go full time at work.

But enough of the sad stuff. I have a lot of fun in my home studio playing with my guitars, which I also collect, refurbish and sell for a small profit. Whenever I have time to kill, I like working on instrumental tracks either seriously or making up or learning funny songs to amuse everyone with. With some time I had spare a few years ago, I put the guitar down (an instrument I've been playing for around eighteen years now) and turned my attention to learning to play the bass and the piano to not only further my understanding of music theory but also flesh out my songs a bit with interesting new elements. Currently looking to join a new band and get that rewarding feeling one gets from playing to a crowd. It was the most fun I ever had.

Secondary to music, I'm quite technically minded. I fiddle with computers (also making a small amount of extra cash fixing laptops and PCs) and other electronics. I used to be quite enthused with videogames, but I don't find the time or motivation these days. A good film or book is about all I can manage!