Electrical & Lights Windscreen heater very weak?

Discussion in '6th Generation (1997-2002)' started by greedy86, Wednesday 16th Jan, 2013.

1. greedy86 Junior Member ☆ ☆ ☆ ☆ ☆

Morning Ladies and Gents....

I'm a newbie here....and this is my first ever thread! haha

Not long back from holiday to discover that the blower heater for my front windscreen is pretty much useless.....once it's heated up u can feel the heat coming through - JUST!

It would seem there is a loud blowing noise coming from in behind the glove compartment area!

I'm no expert but it would seem to me that possibly a pipe has come off or the pipe possibly has a split in it? Just a thought.

My question is though....is there an easy way to get in behind the dash to have a look? I'm hoping there is anyways....as the last few days the windsreen has been frozen both outside and inside!

Your thoughts and advice would be very much appriciated.

Many Thanks

PS - The car is a 2002 (52plate) honda accord sport.

Cheers

2. SpeedyGee Administrator Staff Team

England Speedy Birmingham
    Hi Greedy86, why don't you pop over the "Introduce yourself" section and say a few words about yourself and your car :Smile:

If you remove the glove box, you'll be able to see the blower and give it a visual inspection.

I would think though that the issue maybe internal to the blower though. Perhaps the fan has separated from the motor for example.

3. greedy86 Junior Member ☆ ☆ ☆ ☆ ☆

I will do SpeedyGee....and thanks for the reply!

I know my cars pretty well....but when it comes to the mechanics of them....i'm useless! haha

I'll maybe have a look tonight. It seems strange though....as when you put the heaters to your feet or just through the vents facing you....there seems to be much more power in the hot air! Seems strange really.

So you think it's an easy enough fix?