wishbone bushes

Discussion in 'Project & Modification Logs' started by motorbikelover, Sunday 20th Mar, 2016.

1. motorbikelover Senior Member ★ ★ ☆ ☆ ☆

United Kingdom david mee mansfield notts
    Well at last I've got round to doing some work on the accord, partly due to the front roll bar drop link pulling apart. I also needed to do the front lower wishbone bushes so decided to get it all done together.

I work in a garage and have all the tools I need, such as a press but I just decided to do this how many people have to and make it up as you go along.

First job remove wishbone, there are other guides on this already that are in more detail than I will go into, so basic details follow :-
    • Prize out honda centre cap from wheel
    • Undo wheel hub nut/ now remove wheel
    • Undo bolts holding strut to wishbone/and both wishbone to subframe
    • Remove split pins from bottom ball joint and track rod end and undo nuts but do not remove (make sure nuts are not tight on the thread if so oil them) with a hammer release the track rod end and remove it then release the bottom ball joint then remove the nut.
    • You can now pull the drive shaft out of the hub and release the wishbone.
    • With the wishbone in the vice clean around the bush area and mark were your old bush is by using a datum mark (i used the 2 raised marks on the bush but there are 2 arrows if they have not worn away like mine had)
    • Next bit is for the man with no press. Drill a number of holes in the rubber webs to make them collapes or cut them with a sharp blade (see picture)
    • Now cut through the steel case of the BUSH with a hack saw and knock it out and clean up the hole. (make sure you cut the bush on the thick side of the arm not the outer part).
    • As you will see i used all manner of nuts bolts and washers and an immersion heater spanner and 2 files not a pretty sight but it did the job. (i did the other side on the press).