Suspension, Steering and Brakes CR-V lift kits

Discussion in '3rd Generation (2006-2012)' started by frenchie, Tuesday 18th Jul, 2017.

1. frenchie Club Member ★ ☆ ☆ ☆ ☆

United Kingdom James West London
    hi

Will soon be buying a 3rd Generation CR-V and interested in giving her a lift. Anyone know where I can get a kit and any opinions on what height looks best?

2. Eureka Club Veteran ★ ★ ★ ★ ★

Not directly related to the 3rd Generation CR-V but I am currently looking into lift kits for the 2nd Generation CR-V that I own.
    Seems there are a few options but none of them are easy to get in the UK.

With the 2nd Generation CR-V the kits seem to be either spacers that go between the strut mounts and the struts which are made of plastic or alloy.
    The other option being replacement springs and shocks but you may need to order them from overseas.

I have no direct experience of lifting a CR-V but it is one of the options I am looking at for my car. I am only looking for a small amount of lift possibly smaller than yourself.

3. frenchie Club Member ★ ☆ ☆ ☆ ☆

I've a mate with a 1st Generation that has put in the spacers to get a lift. He does green-laning. For an older car it does look good.

I've noticed a difference in height between older and newer 3rd generations but I think an inch lift would be good

4. 1066Boy Club Veteran ★ ★ ★ ★ ★

Spring spacers are a good bet as you will retain the ride quality. Most lift springs are also uprated so make the ride a little on the firm side unless you are fully loaded with camping gear etc. :Wink:
    Depends how far you are going. If you are going larger or more appropriate tyres I can give you a few hints. :Smile:

Eureka likes this.
  5. Eureka Club Veteran ★ ★ ★ ★ ★

That's pretty much what my findings are. Some people rave about the OME (old man emu) springs and others have had nothing but problems.
    The strut to body spacer route seems to be popular with the Gen 1 CR-V owners.