ICE & HFT Phone Not Pairing

Discussion in '7th Generation (2003-2008) [Acura TSX]' started by hikeifulike, Sunday 4th Feb, 2018.

  1. hikeifulike Junior Member ☆ ☆ ☆ ☆ ☆

    United Kingdom Gary Swindon
    20
    2
    Hello all
    I am unable to pair my phone or my wife's phone, the System Set Up allows me to get as far as the pairing process, but it does not find my phone, the phones are fine as I can pair them to my wife's 2009 Accord, but not to mine.
    I have been doing a bit of research and some suggest the module is nat as it was when it left the factory..., in fact Im not even sure where it is located, as one suggestion was to unplug it for a while then plug it back in to try...
    Any suggestions?
    Thanks in advance
     
    Loading...
  2. Bo_ Senior Member ★ ★ ☆ ☆ ☆

    By any chance your phone is iPhone 8?
    If yes, then you won’t be able as older Hondas does not support latest Bluetooth. I had same issue - iPhone SE works, but iPhone 8 did not connect. Sent email to Honda UK and they came back with this explanation


    Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
     
    Loading...
  3. hikeifulike Junior Member ☆ ☆ ☆ ☆ ☆

    United Kingdom Gary Swindon
    20
    2
    We have Sony's, a Z3 and a Z5. They work on my wife's 09 Accord.
     
    Loading...
  4. Bo_ Senior Member ★ ★ ☆ ☆ ☆

    Try to erase all existing phones from car. Reset phones and try again


    Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
     
    Loading...
  5. hikeifulike Junior Member ☆ ☆ ☆ ☆ ☆

    United Kingdom Gary Swindon
    20
    2
    Hi Bo, I've already done that, the list was clear, but reset it anyway, I've also had the battery off for about an hour, but still no luck, no I'm wondering if the module is stuffed, only I don't know where to find it.
     
    Loading...
  6. Sphinx Senior Member ★ ★ ☆ ☆ ☆

    If its the navi version - then the bluetooth module is under the cover in the center vents.

    Follow this guide :

    Install Xcarlink in 2007 Accord - Civinfo Wiki

    Just pics 1 and 2 required - Its really easy for it to come off.
    - - - Updated - - -
    Make sure you phone is in discovery mode - before you start the scan.

    If the module was faulty - you usually would end up with a dead battery.
     
    Loading...
  7. hikeifulike Junior Member ☆ ☆ ☆ ☆ ☆

    United Kingdom Gary Swindon
    20
    2
    Cheers Sphinx, I'll check it out.
    - - - Updated - - -
    Ok, the link does not work, although I see "Civic" in the wording... There isn't many scrap Accords about, do u thing a module from a scrap Civic would work?
    - - - Updated - - -
    I found this....
    https://hondakarma.com/guides/xcarlink-mp3-unit-install.16/
     
    Loading...
  8. Sphinx Senior Member ★ ★ ☆ ☆ ☆

    Not sure if a Civic module will work - sorry.

    Yes that link you have fine - it shows how to get the top trim level at the center vents.

    Might be worth checking to see if the previous owner has disconnected it.
     
    Loading...
  9. DaveClutters Junior Member ☆ ☆ ☆ ☆ ☆

    Wales DaveC Caerphilly
    10
    1
    How do you know if you car has this feature?
    I have a 2006 Accord cdti sport, it has the phone button on the steering wheel but not sure if the car has Bluetooth.
    Any advise would be great, thanks

    DaveC
     
    Loading...
  10. Bo_ Senior Member ★ ★ ☆ ☆ ☆

    If it’s on right hand side of wheel, then it’s Bluetooth. If on left - it’s voice command for satanic.
    Put a picture in


    Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
     
    Loading...
  11. DaveClutters Junior Member ☆ ☆ ☆ ☆ ☆

    Wales DaveC Caerphilly
    10
    1
    It has two phone buttons on the left side of the wheel. What is satanic?

    Thanks for the help.
     
    Loading...
  12. seriousrikk Junior Member ☆ ☆ ☆ ☆ ☆

    United Kingdom Richard Nottinghamshire
    5
    Freudian slip by the iPhone when typing satnav.
     
  13. hikeifulike Junior Member ☆ ☆ ☆ ☆ ☆

    United Kingdom Gary Swindon
    20
    2
    Mine goes through the motions and comes up on the display, it just doesn't get past the pairing process.
    - - - Updated - - -
    I don't think mine is connected to my satnav... And the buttons are on the left of the wheel.
     
    Loading...
  14. DaveClutters Junior Member ☆ ☆ ☆ ☆ ☆

    Wales DaveC Caerphilly
    10
    1
    I don't have sat nav so it prob won't work then? If I press the button a voice says No phone found.
     
    Loading...
  15. foxleys Premium Member Club Supporter

    England Jersey
    161
    58
    Do you have the satnav/blutooth guide? I found that if the procedure is not followed to the letter, forget it!

    Does your car have 2 buttons under the "Answer call & end call buttons?
     
    Loading...
  16. hikeifulike Junior Member ☆ ☆ ☆ ☆ ☆

    United Kingdom Gary Swindon
    20
    2
    Just in case the question is directed to me, yes I have.
     
    Loading...
  17. DaveClutters Junior Member ☆ ☆ ☆ ☆ ☆

    Wales DaveC Caerphilly
    10
    1
    This is what I have. If you press the phone button it says no device found.
     

    Attached Files:

    • 4.
      4.jpg
      File size:
      99.7 KB
      Views:
      0
    Loading...
  18. hikeifulike Junior Member ☆ ☆ ☆ ☆ ☆

    United Kingdom Gary Swindon
    20
    2
    Just an update....
    I got it to work as in sofar to connect to my phone, but after I tried to make a call it lost the phone, so I disconnected the module, twice, blew out the circuits, then reconnected, it then responded in German.
    WTF !!!
    So, disconnected again, reconnected, but now the :tut: thing is dead... So I have given up.
    I am now undecided about ripping the entire sound system satnav out and the blue tooth, and replacing it all with an aftermarket kit, the problem is the cost... It's a lot of money, so I need to save save save.
     
    Loading...
  19. Bounder Senior Member ★ ★ ☆ ☆ ☆

    Ireland Huan County Cork
    227
    113
    I fitted a Grom BT3 a few years ago, had no problems since.
    It streams A2DP and all the buttons on the steering wheel control the phone as well, so its money well spent as far as I am concerned.
    My Iphone did take a bit of faffing to pair but since I paired it its been flawless. Android was easier I think.
     
    Loading...
    hikeifulike likes this.